Header Ads Widget

PBA teams to be given President's Award by press corps

Everyone had a hand in making the PBA bubble possible. PBA Images (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Now it can be told: everyone is a winner in this year's PBA Press Corps Awards Night.

The group of sportswriters covering Asia's premier professional basketball league announced on Wednesday that all the 12 member clubs have been named winners of the President's Award, which is being given to players, legends, and officials who have been exemplary in one way or another.

"The all-out support of the 12 ballclubs eventually led to the successful staging of the Philippine Cup bubble in Clark, Pampanga that aborted disaster with the possible cancellation of the league's 45th season," the PBA Press Corps explained the "heroic" act.

The PBA bubble was among the first local sporting events that happened amid the COVID-19 pandemic, and credit that to the member teams' "financial sacrifices and deep love for the game."

Top officials from each of the 12 teams are expected to receive the award in the first virtual edition of the PBA Press Corps Awards Night on Sunday.

They will join Bulakan, Bulacan mayor Vergel Meneses, the supposed recipient of the President's Award last year, in accepting the award.

Meneses, the PBA Most Valuable Player in 1995, was supposed to receive the said award in person last year, but the PBA Press Corps Awards Night was canceled due to the pandemic.

Meanwhile, the league's staff members who helped establish the bubble will also be feted with a special citation on Sunday night.

The 17-man crew led by Deputy Commissioner Eric Castro gave their best efforts in making the season restart possible.

Mainly to be done through video conferencing, the physical aspect of the event will take place at the TV5 Media Center in Mandaluyong.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment