Header Ads Widget

SEA Games champs to return for Hanoi edition

Sean Aranar and Ana Nualla will be defending their SEA Games titles in Hanoi. From Nualla's Facebook account
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--The four Filipino pairs that dominated the 2019 Southeast Asian Games in Mabalacat will be the same duos that will compete this year in Hanoi.

The Philippine Dance Sport Federation announced that it will field in the same national team for the 31st SEA Games from Nov. 21-Dec. 2.

In a memorandum dated March 4 but was made public on Saturday, the pairs of Angelo Marquez and Stephanie Sabalo, Wilbert Aunzo and Pearl Caneda, Sean Aranar and Ana Nualla, and Mark Gayon and Mary Joy Renigen will once again compete this year as they look to repeat their dancesport dominance from two years ago.

"As PDSF is unable to hold competitions (dancesport being considered a contact sport) due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the board of directors of PDSF has unanimously decided that the same athletes who represented the Philippines in the 30th SEA Games shall likewise be the official participants in the dancesport events," the memo reads.

In the modern standard event in 2019, Gayon and Renigen won the slow foxtrot and waltz golds while Aranar and Nualla took the gold in tango and Viennese waltz en route to ruling the event overall.

In the Latin American event, Aunzo and Caneda won the golds in cha cha, rumba, and samba, Marquez and Sabalo won the five dance gold in the said event along with their paso doble gold.

The other two golds on the line two years ago went to Vietnamese pairs Nguyen Doc Hoa and Nguyen Thi Hai Yen for quickstep and Nguyen Doan Minh Truong and Nguyen Trong Nha Uyen for jive, and the two duos are expected to be called up as they look to rack up dancesport golds in their own turf.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment