Header Ads Widget

Tim Cone named 'Coach of the Bubble' by PBA Press Corps

Despite his team's preseason troubles, Tim Cone still led Ginebra to the 2020 title. PBA Images (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--Aside from the COVID-19 pandemic, the 2020 PBA season was not Ginebra, fresh from a championship, had envisioned.

Right after the team won the Governors' Cup title, Greg Slaughter suddenly announced that he will take a break from basketball amid trade rumors that he would be traded to NorthPort for Chris Standhardinger.

Just when the season was about to restart inside the "Clark bubble", concerns were raised on the health statuses of LA Tenorio and Japeth Aguilar, who were both fresh from offseason surgeries.

But the Barangay thrived all season long and eventually won the only championship on the line in Season 45.

With that said, the PBA Press Corps will honor Head Coach Tim Cone with the "Outstanding Coach of the Bubble" award for its Awards Night on Sunday.

The reporters covering the PBA beat announced on Friday that Cone will complete the awardees for their awarding ceremonies, which will be televised on Monday through cable channel PBA Rush.

The rest of the awardees for 2020 are Commissioner Willie Marcial as Mr. Executive, all the 12 PBA teams as the recipients of the President's Award, Top Bubble D-Fender Justin Chua, All-Bubble D-Fenders Calvin Abueva, Chris Ross, Mark Barroca, Standhardinger, and Chua, Mr. Quality Minutes RJ Jazul, Scoring Champ CJ Perez, the knockout semifinal game between Ginebra and Meralco as the Game of the Bubble and the All-Rookie Team consisting of Aaron Black, Arvin Tolentino, Roosevelt Adams, Barkley Ebona, and Renzo Subido.    

A special citation will also be handed out to the PBA staff for its non-stop work to ensure the well-being of the Clark bubble.

To be honored too are 2019 winners Leo Austria (Coach of the Year), Sean Anthony (Defensive Player of the Year), PBA board chairman Ricky Vargas (Executive of the Year), and Bulakan, Bulacan mayor Vergel Meneses (President's Award).

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment