Header Ads Widget

Kapatagan unveils 'running team' for VisMin Cup Mindanao leg

Teytey Teodoro leads the cast for the Buffalo Braves. Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas/NBL (file photo)
By Dugout Philippines

MANILA--Kapatagan looks to make waves in its first foray in pro basketball come the 2021 Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas VisMin Super Cup's Mindanao Leg.

The Buffalo Braves backcourt will consist of Teytey Teodoro, Renz Palma, Ryan Costelo, and Shaq Alanes.

Also tapped by the team are Letran's Christian Fajarito and Alex Mandreza -- both of whom are looking to secure a special guest license from the Games and Amusements Board.

Joining Fajarito in the frontline are Jay Ar Ng Sang, Jamil Gabawan, and homegrown big Paul Siarot.

Completing the squad are Eduardo Doroteo, King Astrero, Genmar Bragais, Marlon Monte, and Lanao Del Norte's own Joel Sollano, Carlos Tabaquero, Jeames Incio, and Jeoffrey Acain.

Despite having only a few weeks to prepare for the league, Buffalo Braves head coach Cris Bautista is embracing the challenge put in front of him by team owner Harrison Young.

"Ang maganda sa backcourt natin ngayon is hindi ako nag-rerely sa pure point guards sa lineup ko. Ang real point guard sa team ko is Ryan lang. Lahat ng perimeter ko like sila Teytey and Renz can bring the ball down and set plays," said Bautista, who will be joined by Al Vergara, Dabert Candado, Nino Matig-A, and Timoteo Gatchalian on the sidelines.

"This is going to be a running team."

The team will only get to meet each other later this week. That is why Bautista is not setting lofty goals for his team as he plans to take it one game at a time.

"Ang problema ko ngayon, yung ibang teams nasa Mindanao na. Pero once we get there, I hope na we can fast-track games. Sa games na lang kami mag-aadjust. Kaya our goal is to make the playoffs first."

The league has yet to announce the venue and start date of the Mindanao Leg that will feature nine teams.

Pushed back have been the league's plans as Zamboanga City, Zamboanga del Sur, Cagayan De Oro, Agusan del Sur, and Butuan are under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine while Davao City, Iligan City, Cotobato City, and Lanao del Sur is under GCQ.

Follow the site on Twitter: @DugoutPH

Post a Comment