PBA technical committee admits officiating error in Finals Game 3

PBA technical committee admits officiating error in Finals Game 3

The PBA technical committee confirmed that there was no foul against Brian Heruela when he tried to stop Paul Lee's three-point attempt before halftime of Game 3 of the PBA Philippine Cup Finals. PBA Images (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA--The PBA technical committee took responsibility for an officiating error that became one of the highlights in Game 3 of the Philippine Cup Finals between Magnolia and TNT.

The blunder came late in the second quarter of the Sunday night match when Referee Kenny Hallig called a foul on Brian Heruela while trying to block Paul Lee's three-point attempt but the replays showed that it was a legal challenge.

The said moment was one of what many Tropang Giga fans thought was spotty officiating against them to the point that Team Owner Manny Pangilinan said through Twitter that it was the "worst officiating by far tonight I've seen."

"We made a wrong call, we admit that. No excuses," said Deputy Commissioner Eric Castro, who is also the technical committee chief.

"Admittedly there was no contact. But things like this happen. Referees are humans. Magkakamali't magkakamali sila," added Bong Pascual, the PBA head of officials.

However, Pascual further said that any of the referees' "mistakes don't go unpunished," and it was the case in Hallig as he will not be officiating the rest of the best-of-seven series beginning with Game 4 on Wednesday night at the Don Honorio Ventura State University Gym in Bacolor, Pampanga.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Disclaimer: Images, articles, or videos that exist here sometimes come from various sources of other media. Copyright is fully owned by the source. If there is a problem with this matter, you can contact us here.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Disqus Comments
© Copyright 2013 Dugout Philippines - All Rights Reserved