Header Ads Widget

Right after title clincher for United Clark, Mike Ott named 'Copa' Golden Ball winner

Mike Ott has been named the Golden Ball winner. PFL (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

CARMONA--The PFL rewarded Mike Ott for showing that he has quickly embraced his new role as United Clark's captain by being named the Copa Paulino Alcantara Golden Ball winner.

Ott received the award, equivalent to the Most Valuable Player of the tournament, during the awarding ceremonies on Sunday night at the PFF National Training Centre.

Ott accepted the challenge of being United Clark's new focal leader after longtime skipper Stephan Schrock left the club prior to the start of its 2022 campaign.

Behind Ott's leadership, United Clark went unbeaten throughout the tournament from the preliminary round until the knockout stages.

What made it even sweeter for Ott is that his MVP award right after he scored the match winner for United Clark in the final against Kaya Iloilo earlier in the night.

Kaya Iloilo's Daizo Horikoshi, on the other hand, has been given the Golden Boot award for being the best goal scorer for the tournament.

The Japanese standout scored a total of six goals in the tournament, including the game-winner for Kaya Iloilo against Stallion Laguna in the semifinals.

Horikoshi was held scoreless against United Clark, although he threatened to break the ice first for Kaya Iloilo with a seventh minute flicker that was quickly saved by Anthony Pinthus.

Pinthus has been given the Golden Glove award for conceding the fewest goals in the tournament.

Kaya Iloilo's two-goal showing in the final was the only set of goals Pinthus gave up all cup long as he kept a clean sheet in the other matches where he started for United Clark.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment