Header Ads Widget

Sansar knocks out Manila Chooks in Manila Masters QF clash

Sansar sent Manila packing. Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas
By Ivan Saldajeno

PARAÑAQUE—One Filipino team's quest in the FIBA 3x3 World Tour Manila Masters came to an end on Sunday as Manila Chooks failed to defend homecourt and fell to Sansar MMC Energy, 16-21, in the third quarterfinal at the Ayala Malls Manila Bay Activity Center.

Sansar zoomed ahead in the endgame despite an early domination from Manila's Henry Iloka to join Ub and Melbourne in the semifinals.

Iloka imposed his will inside the paint at the start as he tallied six of Manila's first seven points.

Ken Holmqvist and Chico Lanete got their game going, and Manila surged to a 12-8 lead.

However, behind back-to-back deuces from Anand Ariunbold, Sansar launched a game-turning 11-2 run that put them up for good, 19-14.

Enkhbaatar Onolbaatar put the finishing touches with the match point-clinching layup with 1:53 remaining.

Ariunbold finished with nine points, while Onolbaatar added six, Gansukh Avarzed had four, and Batzolboo Borgil tallied two for Sansar, which will face the winner of the last quarterfinal between Liman Huishan NE and Cebu Chooks in the semifinals.

Liman and Cebu are playing as of posting.

Despite his early domination, Iloka was held tp just one point the rest of the way and finished with seven points for Manila.

Lanete got four, Holmqvist, which played his best performance in the tournament, tallied three, and Dennis Santos had two.

Earlier, Ub turned back Warsaw, 20-18, and Melbourne stunned Ulaanbaatar, 21-17, to set up their own semifinal clash.

The Scores:

Quarterfinals 1:

Ub 20 - Stojacic 8, Barać 5, Brankovic 5, Majstorovic 2.

Warsaw 18 - Zamojski 8, Pawlowski 5, Rduch 3, Diduszko 2.

Quarterfinals 2:

Melbourne 21 - Wagstaff 8, Hire 5, Steel 5, Wilks 3.

Ulaanbaatar 17 - Enkhbat 8, Sir 6, Davaasambuu 2, Tsogt 1.

Time: Wagstaff (9:18)

Quarterfinals 3:

Sansar 21 - Ariunbold 9, Onolbaatar 6, Avarzed 4, Borgil 2.

Manila 16 - Iloka 7, Lanete 4, Holmqvist 3, Santos 2.

Time: Onolbaatar (8:07)

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment