Header Ads Widget

Asian champs grouped together for EASL group stages

Officials from the EASL and its member leagues take a photo together following the group draw. Ivan Saldajeno
By Ivan Saldajeno

TAGUIG--All but one league champion will be in a single group for the EASL group stages following the result of the group draw on Tuesday at the Shangri-La the Fort Grand Ballroom.

Ryukyu, the reigning B.League champion, Taipei Fubon, the P League+ winner, and the team that goes to win the PBA Philippine Cup title this September are drawn into Group A, somehow shaping the group into a "group of death" of sorts.

Only Anyang KGC was the league runner-up that was drawn into Group A.

The Seoul SK Knights, the KBL champs, headline Group B together with B.League runners-up Utsunomiya Brex, the losing PBA Philippine Cup finalists, and the Bay Area Dragons.

The teams will play a double round-robin preliminary phase within their respective groups.

The top two teams per group will meet in the crossover semifinals with the winners competing in the championship round to determine the inaugural EASL champs.

The EASL will open shop on Oct. 12.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment