Header Ads Widget

Blackwater off to best start since 2019 after record-setting beatdown of Terrafirma

Ato Ular had another impressive outing for the Bossing. PBA Images
By Dugout Philippines

ANTIPOLO--Rejuvenated Blackwater picked up back-to-back wins for the first time in three years, extracting it at the expense of skidding Terrafirma, 107-70, Saturday in the PBA Philippine Cup at Ynares Center.

The Bossing unleashed a 36-20 assault in the second period to pull away to a 17-point spread that set the tone for their follow-up to last Saturday's 97-90 win over NorthPort for 3-1 overall and a share of second with San Miguel Beer.

Ariel Vanguardia's spirited troops did it in style with this 37-point demolition becoming the new franchise record for biggest margin, replacing Blackwater's 132-106 beatdown of NLEX in the 2019 Commissioner's Cup.

The Bossing are now enjoying their best start since racking up three consecutive triumphs to start the said mid-season tournament three years ago.

"We can't celebrate too much because we know that every team has the capability to beat each other," said Vanguardia, whose team is determined to turn things around after its dubious 29-game skid.

Rookie revelation Ato Ular fired 16 as five other Bossing produced twin-digit scores in Jvee Casio (14), Yousef Taha (12), Mark Dyke (11), Barkley Ebona (11) and James Sena (11).

The Bossing extricated from a 27-25 contest with a searing 27-12 to end second. And like sharks smelling blood, the Blackwater cagers pounded on the hapless Dyip, who were missing Isaac Go, Ed Daquioag and Bonbon Batiller to major injuries, all the way to the finish.

"I was on them during the first quarter. We had a flat start and we're giving up offensive rebounds. But thanks to our second group, the defense and rebounding picked up. It's a team effort," said Vanguardia.

Joshua Munzon led the way with 17 for Terrafirma, which plummeted to its fifth consecutive loss.

The scores:

Blackwater 107 - Ular 16, Casio 14, Taha 12, Dyke 11, Ebona 11, Sena 11, Publico 7, Ayonayon 5, Amer 5, Suerte 5, Melton 4, Escoto 4, McCarthy 2.

Terrafirma 70 - Munzon 17, Gabayni 12, Tiongson 10, Camson 10, Gomez de Liano 9, Ramos 6, Cahilig 4, Calvo 2, Grospe 0, Tumalip 0, Enriquez 0, Mina 0, Balagasay 0.

Quarters: 18-18, 54-38, 76-54, 107-70

Follow the site on Twitter: @DugoutPH

Post a Comment