Header Ads Widget

Scottie Thompson named MVP for PBA Season 46

Scottie Thompson receives the award with the entire PBA board of governors with him. Ivan Saldajeno
By Ivan Saldajeno

QUEZON CITY—"Kilalanin na natin ang bagong hari ng PBA."

That was how the hosts of the PBA 46th Season Leo Awards signaled that they were about to announce the first season Most Valuable Player not named June Mar Fajardo in recent memory.

The PBA's new king happens to be a Barangay Ginebra Gin King.

Scottie Thompson all but sealed his new status as the new face of the Ginebra franchise after winning the MVP award on Sunday during the 47th Season Opening Ceremonies at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Despite having the lowest statistical points among the four final MVP nominees, Thompson scored a landslide win in the votes from the players, media, and the PBA Commissioner's Office to beat TNT's Mikey Williams, NorthPort's Robert Bolick, and Magnolia's Calvin Abueva for the league's top individual honors.

Thompson garnered a total of 2,836 points, more than double the score Williams, the second placer, got.

The battle for second was actually tight as Williams finished with 1,332 points, Bolick amassed 1,295, and Abueva scored 1,066.

Williams, however, had a landslide win of his own by also tallying more than double his closest competitor's score in the Rookie of the Year race.

Williams finished with 3,327 points, while NorthPort's Jamie Malonzo was in second with 1,583.

Rain Or Shine's Santi Santillan came in third with 664 points.

Thompson, Williams, and Abueva headlined the Mythical First Team.

Fajardo, who had to relinquish the MVP award after winning it an unprecedented six consecutive times from 2014-2019, still made the Mythical First Team even as NorthPort's Arwind Santos completes the cast.

Bolick headlined the Mythical Second Team along with Beerman CJ Perez, Gin King Christian Standhardinger, Magnolia Hotshot Ian Sangalang, and Phoenix Fuel Master Matthew Wright.

Santos headlined the All-Defensive Team alongside Meralco's Cliff Hodge, TNT's Kelly Williams, Magnolia's Jio Jalalon, and San Miguel's Chris Ross.

Terrafirma's Juami Tiongson won the Most Improved Player award, while NLEX's Kevin Alas won the Samboy Lim Sportsmanship Award.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment