Header Ads Widget

Alyssa Valdez, Tots Carlos lead Creamline team to AVC Cup

Creamline will represent the Philippines in the AVC Cup for Women after ruling the PVL Invitational Conference. PVL (file photo)
By Dugout Philippines

MANILA--The Philippine National Volleyball Federation released on Wednesday the names of 14 players who will play in the Asian Volleyball Confederation Cup for Women starting Sunday at the PhilSports Arena in Pasig City.

The national women's team is composed of players from newly-crowned Premier Volleyball League Invitational Conference champion Creamline. The team opens its campaign against Vietnam on Sunday before taking a Monday off.  

The Philippines resumes its bid against China on Tuesday and Iran on Wednesday before wrapping up pool play action against Korea on Thursday.

The national women's team needs to finish in the top four in Pool A to qualify for the quarterfinals. The fifth-placed team in Pool A will finish in ninth place.

Pool B was reduced to four teams after the withdrawal of Kazahkstan on Tuesday. Japan, Thailand, Chinese-Taipei, and Australia make up Pool B.

Four players—Alyssa Valdez, Jia de Guzman, Jema Galanza, and Risa Sato—were part of the Philippine squad that placed ninth in the last AVC Cup for Women competition in Nakhon Ratchasima, Thailand, in 2018.

Completing the 14-women team are Ced Domingo, Jeanette Panaga, Michele Gumabao, Ella de Jesus, Pau Soriano, Kyla Atienza, Fille Cayetano, Kyle Negrito, Rose Vargas, and Tots Carlos.

Sherwin Meneses is the head coach and his assistants are Karlo Santos and Bok Morado, along with strength and conditioning coach Mark Caron.

The team resumed training on Wednesday at the PhilSports Arena.

Follow the site on Twitter: @DugoutPH

Post a Comment