Header Ads Widget

Cebu City Chooks misses on semis seat as Zaisan rallies late to set clash with Manila

Zaisan celebrates after knocking Cebu City out of contention in the Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas 3x3 Quest. Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas 3x3
By Ivan Saldajeno

STA. ROSA, Laguna--Zaisan MMC Energy stole the thunder from Cebu City Chooks and clinched the last semifinal spot in the Chooks-to-Go Pilipinas 3x3 International Quest with a 21-17 win in the final game of the pool stages on Friday night at the Ayala Malls Solenad Activity Center.

Zaisan showed heart down the stretch and completed the comeback with four straight free throws that broke a 17-all tie as Cebu City, leading for most of the contest, suffered a collapse in the end.

Ulzii-Orshikh Myagmursen paced Zaisan, which will face Manila in the semifinals, with nine points.

Batsaikhan Altangerel, who shot the marginal free throws, added five markers, while Nyamdorj Ganbaatar put up four, and Chuluunbaatar Ikhbaayar, who delivered the knockout charities at the 9:50.9 mark, made three.

Manila was denied a sweep of Pool A play after Zavkhan scored a stunning 19-17 win.

Winless ahead of their showdown, Zavkhan finished its campaign in the quest on a high note after upsetting Manila, which earlier stunned world number seven Ulaanbaatar.

Ulaanbaatar joined Manila as Pool A semifinalists after drubbing Kuala Lumpur, 22-11, behind a 10-point show from Dulguun Enkhbat.

Ulaanbaatar will face Saitama, 22-11 winner over Butuan, in the other semifinal pairing.

The Scores:

Ninth Game (Pool A)

Zavkhan 19 - Bayarsaikhan 7, Khureltogoo 6, Lhagvaa 5, Tsermaa 1.

Manila 17 - Iloka 12, Lanete 4, Santos 1, Ando 0.

Tenth Game (Pool B)

Saitama 22 - Milakovic 9, Atanasov 5, Ochiai 5, Ozawa 3,

Butuan 11 - Catacutan 7, Cauilan 4, Eze 0, Strait 0.

Time: Marko Milakovic - 2 (7:45)

Eleventh Game (Pool A)

Ulaanbaatar 22 -  Enkhbat 10 , Gotov 7, Davaasambuu 3, Tsogt 2.

Kuala Lumpur 11 - Ting 3, Zhen 3, Gan 3, Liew 2.

Time: Dulguun Enkhbat - 2 (7:10)

Twelfth Game (Pool B)

Zaisan 21 - Myagmarsuren 9, Batsaikhan 5, Nyamdorj 4, Chuluunbaatar 3.

Cebu 17 - Ramirez 8, Tallo 4, Tolentino 3, Nzeusseu 2.

Time: Ikhbayar Chuluunbaatar - free throw (9:50.9)

Post a Comment