Header Ads Widget

PBA says Calvin Abueva inbounded winning play in time

Calvin Abueva set up what would be the game-winning play in Magnolia's Game 2 victory against Ginebra. PBA Images (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

MANILA—The PBA said on Saturday that the referees were right in not calling a five-second inbound violation on Calvin Abueva late into Game 2 of the "Manila Clasico" semifinals between Magnolia and Ginebra the night before at the PhilSports Arena in Pasig.

Deputy commissioner Eric Castro justified the non-call, saying that the referee who inbounded the ball to Abueva made the manual counting the right way and that Abueva inbounded the ball to Paul Lee in time.

The inbound play set up Lee's buzzer-beater that gave the Hotshots a 96-95 win over the Gin Kings to tie the best-of-five semis at one game apiece.

Some fans, however, thought Abueva took a bit too long to find Lee for the winning play and that the referee missed out on calling the turnover.

Both teams will be breaking the deadlock in Game 3 on Sunday night back at the arena formerly known as "The ULTRA".

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment