Header Ads Widget

PBA suspends ref for missed backcourt call in SMB-Meralco game

The PBA admitted that Marcio Lassiter indeed committed a late turnover that was uncalled, and the referee supposed to call it is now suspended for the rest of the Commissioner's Cup. PBA Images (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

PASIG—The PBA has penalized referee Peter Balao for missing a crucial infraction late into the Friday game between San Miguel and Meralco.

Commissioner Willie Marcial told reporters present at the PhilSports Arena on Sunday night that Balao would be suspended for the rest of the ongoing Commissioner's Cup after reviewing the play in question.

Marcio Lassiter, looking to get some space for the pass, stepped to the backcourt, but Balao, who was near the area, failed to call the turnover and Lassiter eventually passed the ball to Devon Scott, who made two free throws that iced the game for the Beermen.

However, Marcial said that the missed call was not the only reason why Balao will miss the rest of the conference, citing that he is not faring well in the regular assessment of referees.

Follow him on Twitter: @IvanSaldajeno

Post a Comment