Jaypee returns to fortify ECHO for MPL-PH S12

Photo from ECHO Facebook page

MANILA - Fresh from a successful MPL Philippines Season 11 campaign, ECHO added more experience to an already stacked lineup for their title defense in Season 12.

The Orcas revealed their roster last Wednesday where they move two-time MPL champion Jaypee "Jaypee" Dela Cruz to the main team after one season their MDL team Echo Proud.

Jaypee will replace Jian Cedric "Jian" Magtibay who part ways with the current champions last August 6.

Still with the team are the main five of Alston "Sanji" Pabico, Frederic Benedict "Bennyqt" Gonzales, Karl Gabriel "KarlTzy" Nepomuceno, Tristan "Yawi" Cabrera, and Sanford "Sanford" Vinuya, while Harold Francis "Tictac" Reyes and Robert Alexis "Trebor" Sanchez stayed as the team's two coaches.

ECHO enjoyed a championship run in MPL-PH Season 11 as they took down rivals Blacklist International in four games in the Finals, with Sanford getting the MVP nod.

However, the Orcas needed to go back to their winning ways as they drop two international stints, with their MLBB Southeast Asian Cup 2023 journey ending in third after falling to ONIC Esports in the semifinals, and in the Snapdragon Pro Series Challenge Finals where they finished fourth after a defeat to Bigetron Alpha.

Follow him on X: @drew_corner