PVL, UAAP stars banner Alas Pilipinas' women's team to AVC Challenge Cup

Five of Alas' members for the AVC Challenge Cup were unveiled during the official launch of the national volleyball teams' new moniker. Ivan Saldajeno
By Jonathan Salvacion

MANILA—The Philippine National Volleyball Federation (PNVF) will parade a mix of professional and collegiate volleyball stars in the newly-renamed Alas Pilipinas lineup as the Philippines will host the AVC Challenge Cup from May 22-29 at the Rizal Memorial Coliseum.

Following a successful PVL and UAAP season, the PNVF invited the most successful professional and collegiate volleyball athletes to lead the country's quest for victory in the AVC Challenge Cup.

Leading the Alas lineup are the UAAP's most recent MVPs, Sisi Rondina (Season 81), Bella Belen (Seasons 84 and 86), and Angel Canino (Season 85).

Also joining the previous UAAP MVPs are Faith Nisperos, Vanie Gandler, Eya Laure, and Casiey Dongallo.

After bagging her first Finals MVP award in the UAAP, Alyssa Solomon is enlisted to return and fill the opposite spot for the national team. 

Dell Palomata, Cherry Nunag, Fifi Sharma, and Thea Gagate are fortifying the defense at the net.

Sweeping the floor for the Alas will be liberos Dawn Catindig and Jen Nierva, while in charge of orchestrating the plays for the National Team are Jia De Guzman and Julia Coronel.

Rondina, Laure, Gandler, Catindig, and De Guzman were present when the PNVF officially unveiled its national teams' new moniker on Wednesday at Launchpad in Mandaluyong.

Despite the short period to train, fans are very optimistic about getting a more favorable result this year because of the commitment of the most successful collegiate and professional volleyball athletes.

The Philippines is grouped with Australia, India, Iran, and Chinese-Taipei in the pool rounds.

Follow the site on X: @DugoutPH