Header Ads Widget

RRQ Kaito's invincible season complete, dethrones ECHO Proud

Photo from MPL Philippines

by Drew Malihan

MAKATI - The invincible season is now complete, a new king is crowned, and one dominant run is now put to rest.

RRQ Kaito's arsenal was enough to topple the ECHO Proud domination after a full five-game series at the MDL Philippines Season 3 finals Sunday inside the Shooting Gallery Studios.

It was the first silverware in the Filipino Mobile Legends scene for the Kings of Kings, who finished ninth last season outside of the playoffs places.

RRQ Kaito drew first blood in the series after a 12-minute Game 1 with Denniel Denison "xNova" Gomez's Chip leading the way, but ECHO Proud answered back with back-to-back wins in Games 2 and 3 to put the series 2-1.

Jermaine "Aizawa" Fernandez and James "Jeymz" Gloria stepped up big time for the Orcas to take the game into match point with a 21-minute long second game and a quick third one.

It was a back-and-forth affair for both teams in Game 4, but ECHO Proud inched closer to glory with a four-man takedown of RRQ.

Cymond "Cy" Torres proved his best gold laner in the MDL tag right as his Natan was able to defend their exposed turret on his own, prompting ECHO to retreat only to be punished a minute later.

Game 5 proved to be easier for RRQ Kaito, as their draft proved to be too much for ECHO to complete the comeback and grabbed their first MDL-PH trophy.

xNova was hailed as the Finals MVP, joining all his fellow teammates Cy, Gabriel "Denjiro" Guinto, Carl "Minguin" Gallantes, and Season MVP Edferdz "Ferdz" Fernandez, who all grabbed regular season awards in their roles.

RRQ Kaito will next see action in the 32-team Snapdragon Pro Series APAC Open Finals next week along with some of the best teams in Southeast Asia.

Follow him on X: @drew_corner

Post a Comment