PSL Luzon regionals set in Batangas City

By Dugout Philippines

MANILA––A total of 23 teams will slug it out to earn the distinction of becoming champions of Luzon as the road to supremacy in the Pilipinas Super League Regional Finals shifts to Batangas City.

The University of Batangas is ready to host the participating squads that qualified for the Luzon Regional Finals from as far as the Northern, Central, Western, and all the way to the Southern Tagalog side as these teams battle it out, hoping to get a crack at the National Finals and a chance to win the P100,000 prize for the champions in all age group categories – Born 2004, 2006 and 2008.

Former PBA star Jayvee Gayoso, who was designated as deputy commissioner for Luzon, is overseeing the event and he expects exciting, heart-pounding matches stretched for four days beginning June 19.

Among the participating teams from the different age-group divisions are:

Born 2004 – Cavite, Pampanga, Tarlac, Pangasinan, Batangas, Laguna, Quezon and Bulacan.

Born 2006 – Cavite, Pampanga, Tarlac, Pangasinan, Batangas, Laguna and Quezon.

Born 2008 – Cavite, Pampanga, Tarlac, Pangasinan, Laguna, Batangas City-Stonyhurst, Nueva Ecija and Batangas.

The top two teams that will emerge in all divisions will qualify for the National Finals in Quezon City slated July 7-11.

So far, teams from Mindanao and the National Capital Region have already secured berths for the National Finals – NCR Born 2004 champion Caloocan and runner-up Manila-UST; Mindanao Born 2004 champion Davao Occidental and runner-up Davao City; NCR Born 2006 champion Manila-UST and runner-up Caloocan; Mindanao Born 2006 champion Misamis Oriental and runner-up Tagum City; NCR Born 2008 champion Caloocan and runner-up Manila-UST and Mindanao Born 2008 champion Davao City and runner-up Misamis Oriental.

The National Finals serves as the qualifying tournament for the biggest international event to be hosted by the PSL––the first-ever Global Championship Challenge, which attracted teams from the United States, Canada, New Zealand, Italy, Thailand, and the United Kingdom, which will be held beginning July 15 at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Follow the site on X: @DugoutPH