PBA admits crucial officiating mistake in ROS-TNT Game 2

The PBA confirmed that they missed out on giving Calvin Oftana a fourth free throw off Gian Mamuyac's late shooting foul. PBA Images (file photo)
By Ivan Saldajeno

TAGUIG--PBA deputy commissioner Eric Castro conceded that the referees erred on a ruling regarding Gian Mamuyac's foul on Calvin Oftana just before regulation ended in Game 2 of the Philippine Cup semifinals between Rain Or Shine and TNT on Friday night.

In a statement on Saturday, Castro admitted that the officiating crew overlooked that Oftana was going for a four-point shot when Mamuyac fouled him with 7.7 seconds left in the fourth quarter and the Elasto Painters ahead, 99-96.

According to Castro, they based their decision to only give Oftana three free throws instead of four through the television broadcast feed, which seemed to look like the Tropang 5G gunner stepped on the four-point line.

However, video footage from reporters covering the game clearly showed that both Oftana's feet were outside the 27-foot arc, indicating that he should have been given four free throws.

Oftana eventually went 3-for-3 from the foul line to force overtime, but had it been correctly called as a four-point foul, he might have won it outright for TNT in regulation.

"Following the review, it was ruled that the foul occurred on a three-point shot attempt. Calvin Oftana was subsequently awarded three free throws, all of which he converted, sending the game into overtime. However, video footage from members of the media has surfaced, clearly indicating that Calvin Oftana was beyond the four-point line at the time of the foul -- thus qualifying the play as a four-point shot attempt. Our official reviews are based on video feeds from our cameras from different angles. These serve as our sole basis for decision-making during in-game reviews. While we strive to provide accurate rulings, our assessments are inherently limited to the footage available within these camera perspectives. We deeply regret that this call was missed. This incident highlights that, despite the use of advanced equipment and multiple camera angles, blind spots can and do still exist within live game coverage," Castro said.

He then vowed that the technical committee will do better in reviewing crucial plays in the future.

"Our players, teams, and fans deserve the highest standards of fairness and accuracy. We acknowledge this lapse and commit to continuously improving our review systems to minimize such occurrences in the future," the statement concluded.

The missed call turned out to be a blessing in disguise for Oftana as he continued his explosion in overtime and finished with 39 points in a 111-103 win.

With both Game 3s expected to be intense as both the TNT-ROS and San Miguel-Ginebra series will shift to the Smart Araneta Coliseum in Quezon City on Sunday night, another crucial officiating lapse could change the complexion of either game.

Follow him on X: @IvanSaldajeno