Header Ads Widget

Thailand, Indonesia set to be Philippines' toughest tests in SEA Games 2019 tennis

Sanchai and Sonchat Ratiwatana (file photo)
By Kristoffer Ed Bellen

With a combination of seasoned veterans and rising college tennis stars, the Philippine national men's and women's tennis team will be vying to deliver a gold medal (or gold medals) for the country as the tennis competitions start today at the Rizal Memorial Tennis Center in Malate, Manila.

But, the journey to the top would not be easy for the Filipino netters as a mix of professional tennis players from their Southeast Asian rivals will be out to challenge their ambitions including familiar foes who have already once broke their hearts before.

In the men's division, twin brothers and back-to-back SEA Games gold medallists Sanchai and Sonchat Ratiwatana will be the toughest challenge for the Filipinos as they headline Thailand alonng with their Davis Cup teammates Wishaya Trongcharoenchaikul, Jirat Navasirisomboon, and Kasidit Samrej.

Indonesia's Christopher Rungkat, David Susanto, and Ignatius Susanto will be back for this year's biennial meet as well alongside Ari Fahresi and Muhammad Fitriadi while Vietnam boasts Daniel Cao Nguyen, who is the highest ranked singles player in the event, Le Quoc Khanh, Ly Hoang Nam, Nguyen Van Phuong, and Giang Trinh Linh.

Meanwhile, on the women's side, the Filipinas will be facing off against Indonesian players Beatrice Gumulya and Jessy Rompies, both of whom are inside the WTA Top 200, as well as their compatriots Rifanty Kahfiani, Priska Nugroho, and Aldila Sutjiadi.

Thailand will bank on the services of Anchisa Chanta, Patcharin Cheapchandej, Luksika Kumkhum, Peangtarn Plipuech, and long-time tennis player Tamarine Tanasugarn.

Brunei is the only country that will not field any player in either men's and women's side.

Below is the full lineup for each country:

Men's Tennis

Kenny Bun
Ponlok Khleang
Sarith Our

Ari Fahresi
Muhammad Fitriadi
Christopher Rungkat
David Susanto
Ignatius Susanto

Vitaya Rasavady
Sataporn Simmalavong

Chin Zao Quan Christian Didier
Muhammad Aiman Hamdan
Shamirul Shahril Mohd Adam Das
Neoh Khai Keat
Syed Naguib Syed Mohamad Agil

Min Myu Paing
Zaw Kaung Khant

Francis Casey Alcantara
Ruben Gonzales
Treat Huey
AJ Lim
Jeson Patrombon

Bin Meqsud Alam Muhammad Shaheed Alam
Timothy Tze Hsien Lim
Ethan Kai Xin Lye
Hao Yuan Ng
Roy Alif Hobbs
Aneish Jose Sawney
Jonathan Kyle Tan

Jirat Navasirisomboon
Sanchai Ratiwatana
Sonchat Ratiwatana
Kasidit Samrej
Wishaya Trongcharoenchaikul

East Timor
Patricio Jose Ferreira
Antonio Mendes

Daniel Cao Nguyen
Le Quoc Khanh
Ly Hoang Nam
Nguyen Van Phuong
Giang Trinh Linh

Women's Division

Ho Sreynoch
Andrea Daravy Ka
Grace Annete Krusling
Chenda Som

Beatrice Gumulya
Rifanty Kahfiani
Priska Nugroho
Jessy Rompies
Aldila Sutjiadi

Mohd Adam Das Suhana Sofia
Alisha Nayar Sara
Jawairiah Noordin
Theiviya Selva Rajoo
Wan Abdul Rahman Sharifah Elysia

Thandar Aung
Thein S Kyim Nyaing

Marian Capadocia
Denise Dy
Khim Iglupas
Anna Clarice Patrimonio
Shaira Hope Rivera

Lim En Tong Lynelle
Peng Suqing Sarah Pang
Seah Shi Yi Charmaine
Tan Hui Xin Izabella
Tan Kay Shan Tammy
Tan Nicole Y Kit

Anchisa Chanta
Patcharin Cheapchandej
Luksika Kumkhum
Peangtarn Plipuech
Tamarine Tanasugarn

Dao Minh Trang
Fodor Csilla
Ly Nguyen Savanna
Phan Thi Thanh Binh
Tran Thuy Thanh Truc

Follow him on Twitter: @KristoffBellen.